William Wielgus

William Wielgus

Oboe English Horn

William Wielgus was a member of the oboe section of the National Symphony Orchestra from 1990 to 2017 upon appointment by Mstislav Rostropovich. He is presently on the oboe faculty at American University and has taught at West Virginia University and St. Mary’s College. He has also appeared at many major summer music festivals including Aspen, Tanglewood, and Spoleto, and was the winner of the 1990 Aspen Woodwind Soloist Competition. He is actively involved in a project to research, commission, perform, and record Peruvian oboe music and has presented recitals at the conservatories of Lima and Trujillo. In 2019 he has appeared as soloist with the Banda Nacional de Cuba and the Trujillo Symphony Orchestra in addition to programs of Peruvian music at Indiana University and Southern Mississippi University. His new edition of Percy Grainger’s “Arrival Platform Humlet” is published by Bardic Editions. He is a student of Marc Fink, Jerry Sirucek, and Ray Still.

Lecture – William Wielgus


Sonatina (2020), Charles Ingram (b. 1971) I. Midday Constitutional II. Pensive Reflections III. Skittish Disposition Richard Kravchak, Oboe Alexandra Nguyen, Piano Dream Triptych for solo oboe (2020), Quinn Mason (1996) Dream In Memory Reality William Wielgus, Oboe Sonata in b minor (1947), Ernest Washington Simms (1917-1975) Spirited-Controlled Fury-Rubato Moderato Andante Vivace William Wielgus, Oboe Alexandra […]

Lecture Oboe Lecture Recital Oboe

Recital Chamber – William Wielgus


The Deserted Garden (1933), Florence Price (1887-1953) *arr. for oboe, 2 English horns and bassoon by Dario Argentesi William Wielgus, Oboe Robyn Dixon-Costa, English Horn William Francis Swann, English Horn Leonard Hindell, Bassoon Five Pieces for English Horn and Piano (1963), Akin Euba (1935-2020) I. Quarter note=60 III. Quarter note=80 Robyn Dixon Costa, English Horn […]

Mixed ENS Perf Mixed ENS Performance OB Perf Oboe Performance
Translate »