Jeanine Krause – Sprightly Companions

Jeanine Krause – Sprightly Companions

Sprightly Companions: Inextricably linked to language, music of the early eighteenth century speaks with a Force of Eloquence which may surprise the twenty-first century listener with its relevance and expression. It argues, declaims, laments, provokes, charms and frolics, raising a voice beyond its time. The Sprightly Companions are driven by the desire to take part in the Great Conversation which deals with the perennial issues of men and women through the ages and across the world as expressed through art, music, literature or dance, uniting us. Our language is music, and our tools are historical wind instruments. Founded in the USA in 2009, “The Sprightly Companions” are now based in Germany. They take their name from the earliest publications written about the oboe (hautboy) 1695 “The Sprightly Companion”, wherein it states:
… the Hautboy is so a fine and useful an instrument, and so portable a Companion…

Sprightly Companions founder, Jeanine Krause is praised as delightful and so refreshing (Boston Musical Intelligencer) and performs on oboes and recorders with orchestras and as a soloist in North America, Europe, and worldwide. Her many fruitful collaborations include giving the first period performance of J.S. Bach’s St. John Passion in Cape Town together with South African talent, participating in the provocative stage production  Giacomo Variations with John Malkovich, the Wiener Akademie and Musica Angelica and performing in the East and Far East with Japanese and European orchestras together with Joshua Rifkin’s Bach Ensemble. Jeanine is the artistic director of the European Division of Symphonie des Dragons, an oboe band fashioned after the great wind bands of 17th and 18th century Versailles.

Recital Chamber – Sprightly Companions


Sonata VII from Ten Sonatas in Four Parts, Henry Purcell (1659-1695) Vivace – Largo – Grave – Canzona –Allegro – Adagio Trio Sonata in c minor, Gottfried Heinrich Stölzel (1690-1749) [Andante] – Allegro – Adagio – Allegro Triosonata in F-Dur Op. 1 Nr. 1, Antonio Caldara (1670-1736) Grave – Allegro – Adagio – Allegro Trio […]

Baroque Ens Performance Period INST Perf
Translate »